Hurray, the family is here!

So my anticipation was building up to the moment of the 21st! My family was coming to visit meeeeee. My sisters had not seen me for three months and it was an incredibly funny moment when they got to my house! They were like: “Who are you?!”  Who’s this tiny face :D!!! So they came into the house and I sat them down in my room. They liked the house. Yes, a bit old-fashioned. Yes, a dodgy neighbourhood. But hey! I had a spacious room for the price I was paying and it was at the edge of the city center!

Belfast April 017

So what did we do on day one?! The only thing we could do! Go hike on cavehill! We took the bus to cavehill and I showed my mum and sisters around the castle! They absolutely loved it and thought it had a bit of a cinderella feeling to it. Of course they also could not stop commenting on just how different the make-up style of the Irish girls is compared to the Dutch. It sure felt like the three ladies were back :)! We  started our hike and it was pretty damn warm alright. It even caused my sisters to break a sweat!

As my mum and sisters were blaming me for going too fast we took some breaks whilst going to the top. This enabled us to take some nice pictures and even have a few new sibling pics. There was one sibling pic which have recreated! You see, 10 years ago we gave our mum a canvas with the three of us lying on a beach. At the moment of that picture it was pretty windy and we were actually squinching our eyes just to be able to see something! So when we got to the summit we did so again 😀 ! A fine result as again, it was super windy!

Belfast April 024

Sibling pic!

Belfast April 022

And a fine panorama

So we were starting to get tired and slowly made our way down. By the time we got to my house my mum and sisters were just done for the day. So I invited them to a lovely Italian restaurant: la villa Italia. They have an area which feels like your sitting somewhere in an Italian village beneath an olive tree but that feeling gets roughly interrupted by modern music playing on high volume hahaha.

We had a great meal and a lovely evening together. We were so full that all four of us were actually happy to walk back as our food would go down easier.

We all went to bed early that night and woke up the next morning just after 9 haha.

We started our SUNDAY, with some good old hagelslag( chocolate sprinkles ) on our bread and then figured it would be nice to go for a cycle! So we got ourselves some rentals and cycled all along the coast line! We got to Bangor where we head dinner and the route was in my sisters’ words: “way too long”

What we also had not realised was that we took an incredible up and down hill path that would let us back to Belfast. It was extremely beautiful and felt very nice to cycle out there. We had to do a small part on the highway which scared my mum and sisters a bit but in the end all ended well. They really enjoyed the views and we were also lucky with the good weather. We ended up going to bed earlier than expected because everybody had lost all their energy after such a tough day but it’s really nice to have the family over 🙂 !

Leave a comment